The Committee


President – Eloise Chambers

Hi – I’m Eloise, I really love being in the mountains, exploring wild places and having adventures. Before I became an Earth Science undergraduate I worked as a Mountain Leader, and a climbing and paddlesports instructor. I’ve been lucky enough to be part of, and to lead, expeditions in the Lake District, Scotland, the Himalaya, the Alps and northern Spain. It’s always brilliant to hear about other people’s adventures. The Explorers’ tales at our weekly talks really inspire me and I’m always looking for ideas for future adventures.





Secretary – Arran Chambers


Arran is a 1st year earth scientist who is yet to complete his committee bio.







Treasurer – Adrian White

Frances Hamblin - Treasurer

Hi! I am an 4rd year Earth Sciences at St Hugh’s. I have enjoyed being in the natural world from a young age from walking in the countryside to wild camping in arctic Norway while completing a 6-week fieldwork project. This summer I spent a month walking in the Scottish highlands, exploring some of the UK’s wild spaces. I joined the committee after being inspired by the talks and meeting like-minded people. I particularly enjoy hiking, photography and some cycling. I enjoy new challenges, taking up climbing for the first time at uni.




Webmaster – James Sandy

Gemma Quinn

Greetings explorers! I’m James, the webmaster for this year (again), so if anything is wrong on the website don’t fail to get in touch with me. Alongside website maintainer, I’m a fourth year Physics student and outdoors fan. Like many in the OUEC, I have served on the OUMC (Oxford University Mountaineering Club)  committee in the role of ‘Gear Sectary’, which involved storing 40 climbing shoes in my room and lugging them up to Brookes Climbing wall via Headington Hill every week; I’m much happier with a more indoor role now. This summer I spent 2 weeks cycle touring in Austria, and although it didn’t all go to plan (cycling injuries, lack of personal hygiene etc) I had a really fun time and looking forward to doing something similar next summer vacation.

Expeditions Secretary  – Marie-Laure Parsy Szikola


Good-day from the Far North Explorers! I’m Marie, this year’s Expedition Adviser. Based in Iceland and working towards my commercial pilot license, I have a lifelong passion for exploration and convey my love of adventure through the organization of independent trekking expeditions. From the fjords of eastern Greenland to the high mountains of Tajikistan, with equal detours across the Sahara , Polar Regions or the Himalayas, my walking boots never step far away from a camera and a notebook. A published travel writer and photographer, I will be on a regular commute from Reykjavik to catch you at the pub after our weekly talks :) In the meantime, do not hesitate to contact me at  or directly add me on facebook if you have any questions regarding expeditions. Safe travels!




Archivist – Will Hartz 


Hi! I’m Will, I’m a 4th year Chemist and have enjoyed climbing, mountaineering and ski touring from the Cairngorms to Pyrenees. Some of his most memorable time outside has been spent on the Hardangervidda and Mont Blanc massif. This summer I was very fortunate to be part of an Oxford University expedition to Svalbard that retraced the footsteps of a previous 1923 university expedition. I look forward to welcoming a variety of speakers to the OUEC this year and the RGS explore weekend.